EFY Week 7: Pocatello

This last week in Pocatello was one of my favorite weeks of the summer! I had two great co counselors (I really like trios haha), named Kelly and Lauren, and we had a blast helping the youth to develop habits and skills for the rest of their lives. This was the first on campus session that EFY has ever done on the ISU campus and we were thrilled to work alongside the ISU staff.

Not gonna lie, I am not the biggest fan of Pocatello as a city but, its one redeeming factor is that Costco is located there 😂. (side note: have you tried Costco’s Acai Bowls?? The Food Court employees in Pocatello actually do them right with the best ratio of acai to fruit and granola. #heavenly)

Our youth group this week consisted of a million youth (or 38 if you actually count 😂) and each one of them came with their own uniqueness that truly blessed my life and the lives of my co counselors. Each one of them was either 14 or 15 and it was incredible to hear about their lives and families. The youth these days have to deal with so much more than I did at their age 10 years ago! 👏🏽 I am so grateful to have been able to get to know them.

After each week of EFY the counselors get a short break on Saturday and (after a quick pit stop to grab another acai bowl 😬) some friends and I drove up to Rexburg, Idaho to prepare for the next session this coming week. I really like the BYU-Idaho campus and definitely will never forget the mems that I made here (also, if you’re in Rexburg, hit me up! I would love to see you 😆). So, because of the mems, I took my friends to some of my favorite spots up here, everything from hammocking in Porter Park to feasting on the burgers and shakes of Big Jud’s (shout out to Man vs. Food fans).

We were welcomed to Rexburg by possibly one of the most glorious sunsets that I have ever witnessed so stay tuned to my Instagram account to see pics of that!

Anyway, I love you guys. Thank you for liking, commenting, and subscribing as I tell of the incredible journey that this life is!

-Mitch

P.S. If you’re curious about what has been going on with the podcast that I produce, check it out here!

Leave a comment