Resolutions?

This week I want to review how my progress with my New Years Resolutions. It has been about a month since I made them, and I feel like now would be a good time to review! I’ll also give a brief rundown of my week as I go over them, so stay tuned 😆.

For those of you who have not seen my post “Incoming!” here are my resolutions that I shared with you: (basically I just wanted to be more consistent in the things on this list)

  • Social Media Activity (Mainly Instagram)
  • Daily habits and schedule
  • Posture
  • Gym time!
  • Daily Photography
  • Variety of Photography (Photoshop projects)
  • Prints!

Some of these things fit well on a check list and others are in progress but let’s check my progress and see if I am being consistent or intermittent!

Social Media Activity:

I have done my best to make this as fun and interesting as possible (check me out and let me know what you think!🤗). Honestly, this is a kind of strange goal to have for me because most of my closest friends try to distance themselves as much as possible from time spent on social media to avoid the distraction. I agree with the theme of avoiding distraction on social media so, along with consistency, I am making a conscious effort to be on social media with a purpose. That purpose being to be on social media to support the work of artists like me and communicate with and participate in the various groups/communities that I am a part of as a photographer. Recently (this week), I was noticed by a couple of brands and newspapers. There are some collaborations in the works!

Ruling: Consistent!

Daily Habits/Schedule:

Each day I try my best to get to sleep by a reasonable hour, wake up early, be positive and encouraging, and grow physically, spiritually, and professionally. I have a reminder set in my phone for 5AM each morning that encourages these habits and throughout my day I have been checking them off as I go. Some days (very few) this is easier than others. It takes planning to get it all done!

Ruling: Intermittent. This is definitely something that I am working on daily but as of right now I probably check all those off 4/7 days of the week.

Posture:

This is pretty self-explanatory. I started super strong but it is really hard to keep up with in each of my classes. At work I have a standing desk so this is easier but it is mainly when I sit that I struggle. I have also been working on keeping my eyes and head up as I walk.

Ruling: Intermittent but close! I can’t put an exact figure to this one like with daily habits but right now I am probably around 80%.

Gym Time:

I’m terrible at this. Through my work I have a membership to VASA Fitness but without a gym buddy to keep me going I’m down to maybe 3/7 days a week. (I had one but she is worse than me about going 😂)

Ruling: Intermittent. Now accepting applications for gym buddy 💪🏽.

Daily Photography/ Variety/ Prints:

I grouped these together because, basically, they all roll into one another. This semester in school I am taking a photography class so it has been pretty easy for me to keep up with daily photography and variety in my projects. For my prints, I am turning my living room into a gallery and have slowly been building my collection of frames and ordering prints to fill those frames. I’ll be sure to post the results on here for when its finished!

Ruling: Consistent! Woohoo! (Ending on a high note)

My big news for this week was that I am currently in the process of collaborating with a couple of brands in the area. We will see the fruits of those labors soon!

Anyway, I love you guys and thanks for reading, commenting, and subscribing 😏

-Mitch

3 thoughts on “Resolutions?

  1. I just found your blog and I love the idea of waking up at 5 am with reminders on how the day should go- why start late?

    Like

Leave a comment